The Livingston Parish Council is the legislative body, with the power to enact all ordinances and resolutions. Livingston Parish Council members are elected from nine districts, and the President is elected at-large, by all voters of the Parish. The nine Livingston Parish Council members act only by ordinance, resolution or motion. They adopt and may alter the annual budget and confirm the Livingston Parish President's appointments. The Livingston Parish Council is responsible for the appropriation and issuance of bonds. The Livingston Parish Council determines its own rules of procedure, and its meetings are open to the public. The Livingston Parish Council members are elected every four years. They are elected to geographic districts of roughly the same proportion of population.


Left to Right: Councilman Tracy Girlinghouse (District 7); Councilman Jeff Ard
(District 1); Councilman Garry "Frog" Talbert (District 2); Councilman John
Wascom (District 4); Councilman Maurice "Scooter" Keen (District 3); Parish
President Layton Ricks; Councilman Shane Mack (District 9); Councilman
Jeff Averett (District 6); Councilman R.C. "Bubba" Harris (District 5);
Councilman Tab Lobell (District 8)